Visit NCSPA Website
UPDATE: Processor Thresholds for Damaged Beans
Due to accumulated damage on soybean, many growers are concerned about discounting and possible rejection at the point of sale.

Cargill is currently accepting soybeans at the Fayetteville location with low damage of 5% or less.
Cargill’s location at Selma in Johnston Co. is now open and is accepting beans with damage of 30% or less.  The location is receiving 7 am to 3 pm today and 7 am to 5 pm next week.
Starting soon, Cargill Raleigh will be receiving only low moisture / low damage beans to fill bin bottoms.

Perdue Oilseeds reports they are accepting all producer beans and that the damage situation seems to be clearing up somewhat in the Northeast as the earlier maturity beans finish moving into the market.

ADM at the Kershaw, S.C. location raised the damage threshold for rejection to 20% earlier this week.

Recommended:  utilize the services of the N.C. Department of Agriculture to test soybean samples if in doubt, and stay in touch with your merchandiser.
USDA Designates N.C. Counties as Disaster Areas 
The U.S. Department of Agriculture designated 19 counties in North Carolina as primary natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by excessive rain and flooding that occurred from Sept. 22, 2015, through Oct. 4, 2015. Those counties are:

• Alleghany                                • Ashe                             • Beaufort
• Brunswick                               • Carteret                         • Columbus
• Craven                                   • Dare                              • Duplin
• Edgecombe                             • Hyde                             • Jones
• Martin                                    • Onslow                          • Pender
• Sampson                                • Tyrrell                            • Washington
• Wilkes

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in North Carolina also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are:

• Alexander                              • Bertie                              • Bladen              
• Caldwell                                •Camden                            • Chowan      
• Cumberland                           • Currituck                          • Halifax
• Harnett                                 • Iredell                             • Johnston
• Lenoir                                   • Nash                              • New Hanover
• Pamlico                                 • Pasquotank                     • Perquimans
• Pitt                                       • Robeson                         • Surry
• Watauga                               • Wayne                            • Wilson
• Yadkin

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas on Oct. 21, 2015, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.
Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online.
What to Consider Before Getting More Data for Your Farm
Big data in agriculture is here to stay and it’s evolving all the time. Farmers are considering investing in reporting on everything from machine feedback and control to telematics to crop health and in-field monitoring.  Continue to our site to find out more about new technologies to invest in. 

Annual Fall Board Meeting
This years annual fall board meeting will be held on November 12-13, 2015.  The meeting will take place at the DoubleTree RTP in Raleigh, NC. The Research Committee will also be reviewing the proposals for annual production of agriculture research.

27th Annual Commodity Conference
January 13-15, 2016
Sheraton Imperial Hotel
Durham, North Carolina

This year's NC Commodities Conference will be the joint meeting of The Small Grains, Corn, Cotton, and Soybeans Associations. The conference will include vendor trade shows, commodity market outlook, commodity extension specialist presentations, annual yield awards, banquet with entertainment by the EMBERS & much more!  Registration and information can be found at



unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences