The UWA Boat Club's email newsletter.
View this email in your browser

Centenary Launch Event

It starts now! In 2019 the Boat Club will celebrate its centenary, and we're planning a series of events between now and then.

We're inviting all past members of the Boat Club to our Centenary Launch Sundowner, 6pm Friday November 20th at the Boat Shed.​

Please get in touch with your old crewmates and get the gang back together! Our recent Friends events have been hits and the club is positively buzzing. We'd love for the rest of our past members to reconnect!

There is no entry charge, but please RSVP to for catering purposes. A cash bar will be available.

We're also calling for expressions of interest to join the Centenary Committee. This group will reconnect with past members, plan events and assist with our Centenary goals over the next few years. If you'd like to be involved or have any suggestions, please contact Adam Feilding at

Season 2015 Clean Sweep

Our 2015 season was absolutely huge.

We managed a clean sweep of all grades (A, B, C, D and E), took out the overall pennant and were also awarded Champion Club. The only pennant we didn't win was the Masters pennant (won by Swans).

By all accounts this is the first time a club has achieved this in over half a century.

Maia Simmonds was also recognised as the WA Oarswoman of the Year.

This is a huge achievement for the club. Club spirit is through the roof and we're looking forward to season 2016.

Record Annual Dinner

This year's Annual Dinner was a huge success and with 128 attendees was quite possibly the largest ever!

Past Captains David Barber, Craig James and David Bean were in attendance and were happy to see the club's traditions being upheld.

Alex Payne, Robbie Duncan and Issy Whitaker were presented with their blazers.

The following award winners were also presented:

Oarsman of the Year: Timothy Widdicombe
Oarswoman of the Year: Maia Simmonds
Club Champion: Holly Child
Most Improved Oarsman: Angus Hammond
Most Improved Oarswoman: India Warren-Hicks
Best Novice Oarsman: Samuel Jaschke
Best Novice Oarswoman: Alexandra Utley
Best First Year Male: Fraser Pensini
Best First Year Female: Maddy McLauchlan
Club Service: Russell Fraser
FW: Warwick Yeates

At the club's AGM (held immediately prior to the dinner) the Committee for 2016 were elected:

President: Adam Feilding
Vice President: Stewart Blair
Captain: Karlie Payne
Director of Admin: Robbie Duncan
Treasurer: Michael Smith
Men's Vice Captain: Warwick Yeates
Women's Vice Captain: Holly Child
Registrar: Sharni Cutajar
Assistant Secretary: Brittney Wicksteed
Safety Officer: Gavin Pensini
Boat Officer: Nick Eyres
Social Officer: Angus Hammond

Nationals 2016

Once again UWABC is collaborating with the West Australian Rowing Club to prepare for the Australian Rowing Championships in Penrith in March 2016. This is the third year we've combined forces and the program is going from strength to strength.

We have 16 UWABC athletes training out of WARC at Barrack St and WAIS at Canning Bridge (anyone who has ever tried to row at UWABC over summer will recall how difficult it is with the prevailing easterly). The athletes from both clubs benefit from working within a stronger, faster collective training group.

You'll be able to meet some of the athletes at the Centenary Launch on Nov 20.
Copyright © 2015 University of Western Australia Boat Club, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp