Collins Cup 2020

I hope everyone is safe and well during these troubling times. This past Saturday would have marked the 5th Annual Budge Collins Cup, a duel between Orange Coast College & UC Irvine. The Collins family has been supporting rowing in Newport Harbor (UC Irvine, & Orange Coast) for over 25 years. Through the efforts of our founder Duvall Hecht, with the support of Budge Collins, the Budge Collins Cup was formed for the men's rowing teams. The oarsman strive to proclaim themselves King of the Harbor every year.

Unfortunately we are unable to race the 2020 Budge Collins Cup, so we took the opportunity to ring up some of our recent alumni to re-watch and talk through the 2017 Collins Cup Varsity 8+. Below you will find a video with commentary from our alumni as they relive all the details from this day.

Coach Brooks

Speakers - Khalid Elassaad '18 - Cole McGuire - '18 - Ved Kirloskar '17

Update on the Crew

The Team has been meeting on Zoom (a group video platform) to connect and discuss training, life, academics, etc. I have been sharing training philosophies and stories from my own rowing history. The Team has been sharing their workouts on Strava. If any alumni wants to join in on all the fun, please reach out and join our club "UCI Men's Rowing". You can catch a bit of the online fun tonight on Fox 11 News - the crew will be giving a live update at 10:40PM PST. Make sure to tune in!

Team 100 Honor Roll

Thank you to all of our sponsors and supporters though these troubling times. You're dedicated support is inspiring. Another round of applause to all of our Team 100 Members.  

George Stone ‘72, Vince Mestre ‘71, Dave Lebel ‘81, Todd Canfield ‘93, Jeff Brown ‘79, Bruce Ibbeston ‘75, Brian Atwood ‘74, Tom Kirksey ‘88, Mark Massman ‘76, Michael Eastwood ‘81, Rick Peterson ‘75, Kyle Starr & Tiffany Cho ‘15, Mark Bradburne ‘81, Bill Grant ‘76, Greg Rose ‘75, George Basile ‘83, Peter Kobrak ‘84, Michael Thompson ‘71, Jeff Emdee ‘86, Christer Fiege-Kollmann ‘82, Alex Hubbard ‘87, Michael Sullivan ‘74, Stephen Zotovich ‘73, Chis Romberg ‘99, Powell Thurston ‘90, Michael Chen ‘03.

Copyright © 2020 Friends of UCI Rowing, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp