Copy
Shibley Righton Condo e-bulletin
Placeholder Image
 Lockdowns in Toronto and Peel Region
Questions Regarding New Lockdowns in Toronto and Peel Region

With Toronto and Peel Region going into ‘lockdown’ for a 28 day period, we have begun to receive questions regarding the impacts of these new restrictions on condominium business.

Board Meetings

The lockdown restrictions prohibit a person from attending an “organized public event” or “social gathering” that is held indoors with members of more than one household. In our view this prohibits in-person board meetings during the lockdown. Boards with upcoming meetings should hold them via teleconference or video conference.

Management Offices

The public health advice section of the Province’s lockdown framework recommends that “trips outside of the home should only be for essential reasons” and to “work remotely, where possible”. Our view is that condominium managers should be encouraged to work from home if this is feasible. Travel for work is still deemed to be essential, however, so if there is business that can only be done from the management office managers can still attend in-person do so. Of course all necessary precautions in the office (including appropriate physical distancing) should be followed.

Renovations

While the new lockdown regulations do not prohibit in-suite alterations from taking place, we recommend that Boards encourage residents to limit renovations to only ‘essential’ renovations required to ensure that the unit is habitable. Boards should consider what restrictions may be necessary to ensure that renovations create as little disruption as possible while more residents are likely to be home (e.g. limiting the number of contractors, in-out privileges, and hours of operation).

Real Estate Showings

Open houses are prohibited during the lockdown stage, while showings by appointment continue to be permitted.

Gyms and Pools

All “indoor or outdoor sports and recreational fitness activities” have been ordered closed, with a few limited exceptions. In our view this restriction applies to condominium gyms and pools and they must be closed for the duration of the lockdown.

You can find copies of our previous newsletters here

Placeholder Image
Placeholder Image

Armand Conant
T: 416.214.5207
F: 416.214.5407
E: aconant@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Audrey Loeb
T: 416.214.5267
F: 416.214.5467
E: aloeb@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Deborah Howden
T: 416.214.5279
F: 416.214.5479
E: deborah.howden@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Warren Kleiner
T: 416.214.5238
F: 416.214.5438
E: wkleiner@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

John De Vellis
T: 416.214-5232
F: 416.214.5432
E: john.devellis@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Patrick Greco
T: 416.214-5220
F: 416.214.5420
E: pgreco@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Megan Mackey
T: 416.214.5214
F: 416.214.5414
E: mmackey@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Joel Berkovitz
T: 416.214.5264
F: 416.214.5464
E: joel.berkovitz@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Luis Hernandez
T: 416.214.5259
F: 416.214.5459
E: lhernandez@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Evan Holt
T: 416.214.5213
F: 416.214.5413
E: eholt@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Inder Suri
T: 416.214.5239
F: 416.214.5439
E: isuri@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Patrick Nelson
T: 416.214.5210
F: 416.214.5410
E: pnelson@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard


HAMILTON AREA
4145 N. Service Rd. 2nd Floor
Burlington, ON L7L-6A3
Main: 905.769.0409
Toll Free: 877.214.5200

TORONTO
250 University Avenue#700
Toronto, ON M5H 3E5
Main: 416.214.5200
Toll Free: 877.214.5200 

WINDSOR
2510 Ouellette Avenue #301
Windsor, ON N8X 1L4
Main: 519.969.9844
Toll Free: 1.866.422.7988






This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Shibley Righton LLP · 250 University Ave. · Suite 700 · Toronto, On M5H 3E5 · Canada