Copy
Shibley Righton Condo e-bulletin
Placeholder Image
Toronto and Peel Enter Lockdown

As of this morning, Toronto and Peel Public Health Units are now in “Lockdown” for the next 28 days. Most businesses – including commercial gyms, most retail stores, and restaurants – are closed to the public. Grocery stores, hardware stores, and pharmacies will remain open, and restaurants and most retail are only be able to serve customers through delivery or curbside pickup. With few exceptions, indoor gatherings with those outside one’s household are banned. More information is here:

https://www.ontario.ca/page/covid-19-response-framework-keeping-ontario-safe-and-open#grey

It is unclear at this time whether the Lockdown measures affect residential and condominium amenities. As mentioned in a previous newsflash, Toronto advised that the Rules previously requiring gyms to close in Stage 2 only applied to commercial gyms, and did not apply to gyms in condominiums and residential buildings. Neither Toronto nor Peel have issued any instructions to close gyms or other indoor amenities in condominiums or residential buildings.

However, despite this uncertainty, and considering the second wave of COVID-19 cases in Toronto and Peel, and the announced lockdown, our recommendation is that gyms, pools, and other indoor amenities should be closed until further notice.

If a condominium corporation chooses to keep an indoor amenity open, it must limit access to one household at a time. The Rules for Lockdown do not permit any gatherings indoors with individuals outside one’s household, with exception of individuals who live alone (who may see one other household) and persons requiring care (who may be seen by a caregiver). These exceptions are unlikely to apply in the context of gyms, pools, and cinemas. The corporation may only keep an amenity open if it is satisfied that it can do so safely.

We will provide updates as we learn more and as the situation develops.


You can find copies of our previous newsletters here

Placeholder Image
Placeholder Image

Armand Conant
T: 416.214.5207
F: 416.214.5407
E: aconant@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Audrey Loeb
T: 416.214.5267
F: 416.214.5467
E: aloeb@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Deborah Howden
T: 416.214.5279
F: 416.214.5479
E: deborah.howden@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Warren Kleiner
T: 416.214.5238
F: 416.214.5438
E: wkleiner@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

John De Vellis
T: 416.214-5232
F: 416.214.5432
E: john.devellis@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Patrick Greco
T: 416.214-5220
F: 416.214.5420
E: pgreco@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Megan Mackey
T: 416.214.5214
F: 416.214.5414
E: mmackey@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Joel Berkovitz
T: 416.214.5264
F: 416.214.5464
E: joel.berkovitz@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Luis Hernandez
T: 416.214.5259
F: 416.214.5459
E: lhernandez@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Evan Holt
T: 416.214.5213
F: 416.214.5413
E: eholt@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Inder Suri
T: 416.214.5239
F: 416.214.5439
E: isuri@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Patrick Nelson
T: 416.214.5210
F: 416.214.5410
E: pnelson@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard


HAMILTON AREA
4145 N. Service Rd. 2nd Floor
Burlington, ON L7L-6A3
Main: 905.769.0409
Toll Free: 877.214.5200

TORONTO
250 University Avenue#700
Toronto, ON M5H 3E5
Main: 416.214.5200
Toll Free: 877.214.5200 

WINDSOR
2510 Ouellette Avenue #301
Windsor, ON N8X 1L4
Main: 519.969.9844
Toll Free: 1.866.422.7988






This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Shibley Righton LLP · 250 University Ave. · Suite 700 · Toronto, On M5H 3E5 · Canada