Copy
Shibley Righton Condo e-bulletin
Placeholder Image

Government Extends Time to Hold AGMs and Permits Virtual Meetings

The government of Ontario released an Order In Council on Friday April 24th to permit condominium corporations to hold meetings virtually, and to extend the time period in which corporations must hold their AGMs. This is welcome news for the condominium industry, as the government made similar accommodations for business corporations weeks ago.

The Condominium Act normally requires corporations to enact a bylaw in order to permit electronic voting or attendance; the Order in Council establishes new temporary provisions which will permit electronic voting or attendance despite not having a bylaw in place which permits it. The Order deems an owner to be present at the meeting if he or she "votes at the meeting or establishes a communications link to the meeting".

Additionally, rather than requiring the AGM to take place during the emergency period, it allows a meeting to be held within either 90 days or 120 days of the end of the emergency period in Ontario (depending on when the 6 months a corporation had to hold their meeting comes to an end).

The order also does the following:

Allows a corporation to serve owners' and directors' meeting notices electronically, even if the bylaws do not permit this; and
Removes the requirement that all directors consent to meeting by teleconference.
The order is retroactive to the beginning of the emergency period on March 17th, and will continue until the emergency period comes to an end.

The full text of the Order in Council is available here - please refer to Schedule 4 of the Order for the Condominium Act changes.

Placeholder Image
Placeholder Image

Armand Conant
T: 416.214.5207
F: 416.214.5407
E: aconant@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Audrey Loeb
T: 416.214.5267
F: 416.214.5467
E: aloeb@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Deborah Howden
T: 416.214.5279
F: 416.214.5479
E: deborah.howden@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Warren Kleiner
T: 416.214.5238
F: 416.214.5438
E: wkleiner@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

John De Vellis
T: 416.214-5232
F: 416.214.5432
E: john.devellis@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Patrick Greco
T: 416.214-5220
F: 416.214.5420
E: pgreco@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Megan Mackey
T: 416.214.5214
F: 416.214.5414
E: mmackey@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Joel Berkovitz
T: 416.214.5264
F: 416.214.5464
E: joel.berkovitz@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Luis Hernandez
T: 416.214.5259
F: 416.214.5459
E: lhernandez@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Evan Holt
T: 416.214.5239
F: 416.214.5439
E: eholt@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Inder Suri
T: 416.214.5239
F: 416.214.5439
E: isuri@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard


HAMILTON AREA
4145 N. Service Rd. 2nd Floor
Burlington, ON L7L-6A3
Main: 905.769.0409
Toll Free: 877.214.5200

TORONTO
250 University Avenue#700
Toronto, ON M5H 3E5
Main: 416.214.5200
Toll Free: 877.214.5200 

WINDSOR
2510 Ouellette Avenue #301
Windsor, ON N8X 1L4
Main: 519.969.9844
Toll Free: 1.866.422.7988






This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Shibley Righton LLP · 250 University Ave. · Suite 700 · Toronto, On M5H 3E5 · Canada