Copy
Shibley Righton Condo e-bulletin
Placeholder Image

The Ontario Government has Changed the Limits for Indoor and Outdoor Private Gatherings effective September 18, 2020

Today the government of Ontario decided, due to the increase in the number of COVID-19 cases. to reduce the numbers permitted to attend indoor and outdoor private gatherings and events, in Toronto, Peel and Ottawa.

The government’s decision will limit “unmonitored social gatherings and public events” to 10 people (for indoor events or gatherings) and 25 people (for outdoor events or gatherings). These changes will only apply to the Ottawa, Toronto and Peel regions for the time being, and will be effective as of September 18, 2020. Those attending private gatherings and events need to comply with rules for physical distancing.

The new gathering limits (of up to 10 people indoors and 25 people outdoors) will apply to private gatherings and events only (e.g. private parties in homes and backyards or barbecues in homes, backyards and parks, etc.). The new limits do NOT apply to events and gatherings held in staffed businesses and facilities such as restaurants, banquet halls, cinemas, convention centres, gyms, or recreational sporting or performing arts events.

In our view these new provisions will apply to all common element facilities.

The Province will make it an offence to host gatherings in residential premises (or other prescribed premises) that exceed the limits set out above.

The minimum fine for those who organize/host “illegal social gatherings” will be $10,000 and for those attending the gatherings the fine will be $750.

The police will have the power to order the temporary closure of premises where there are reasonable grounds to believe that a gathering exceeds the prescribed limits.

If you have questions, please contact us at your convenience.

You can find copies of our previous newsletters here

Placeholder Image
Placeholder Image

Armand Conant
T: 416.214.5207
F: 416.214.5407
E: aconant@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Audrey Loeb
T: 416.214.5267
F: 416.214.5467
E: aloeb@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Deborah Howden
T: 416.214.5279
F: 416.214.5479
E: deborah.howden@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Warren Kleiner
T: 416.214.5238
F: 416.214.5438
E: wkleiner@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

John De Vellis
T: 416.214-5232
F: 416.214.5432
E: john.devellis@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Patrick Greco
T: 416.214-5220
F: 416.214.5420
E: pgreco@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Megan Mackey
T: 416.214.5214
F: 416.214.5414
E: mmackey@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Joel Berkovitz
T: 416.214.5264
F: 416.214.5464
E: joel.berkovitz@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Luis Hernandez
T: 416.214.5259
F: 416.214.5459
E: lhernandez@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Evan Holt
T: 416.214.5213
F: 416.214.5413
E: eholt@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Inder Suri
T: 416.214.5239
F: 416.214.5439
E: isuri@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard

Placeholder Image

Patrick Nelson
T: 416.214.5210
F: 416.214.5410
E: pnelson@shibleyrighton.com
Click here to Download my vCard


HAMILTON AREA
4145 N. Service Rd. 2nd Floor
Burlington, ON L7L-6A3
Main: 905.769.0409
Toll Free: 877.214.5200

TORONTO
250 University Avenue#700
Toronto, ON M5H 3E5
Main: 416.214.5200
Toll Free: 877.214.5200 

WINDSOR
2510 Ouellette Avenue #301
Windsor, ON N8X 1L4
Main: 519.969.9844
Toll Free: 1.866.422.7988






This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Shibley Righton LLP · 250 University Ave. · Suite 700 · Toronto, On M5H 3E5 · Canada