Behavioural Supports Ontario & brainXchange present: Person-Centred Language Matters!


February 19th, 2019 | 12:00 - 1:00 PM EST


9:00 - 10:00 AM (Pacific) l 10:00 - 11:00 AM (Mountain) l 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM (Central Standard) l 12:00 - 1:00 PM (Eastern) l 1:00 - 2:00 PM (Atlantic) l
1:30 - 2:30 PM (Newfoundland)  Click here to confirm your time zone
REGISTER NOW

Presenters: 

  • Kate Ducak, Project Officer, Schlegel-UW Research Institute for Aging 
  • Gagan Gill, Public Policy & Programs Analyst, Alzheimer Society of Ontario 
  • Tina Kalviainen, Strategic Communications Specialist, Provincial Coordinating Office, Behavioural Supports Ontario

Summary:


The Person-Centred Language Commitment Statements, informed by the authentic voice of persons with lived experience, were created to promote the consistent use of person-centred language that is appropriate, respectful, life-affirming and inclusive when talking with and referring to older adults presenting with or at risk for responsive behaviours/ personal expressions that may be associated with dementia, complex mental health, substance use and/or other neurological conditions and their care partners.  Learn about Behavioural Supports Ontario’s Person-Centred Language Initiative and engage in self-reflection and discussion on why we need appropriate language and explore ways to transfer, translate and implement the concepts included in the report which was released in October of 2018. View Report 

 

Registration is FREE!

Click here to Register

If the registration link above does not work, please copy and paste the following into your web browser: https://tinyurl.com/pclanguagewebinar
 

Connection Details: Technical Requirements

*You will receive an email confirmation shortly after registration, which will include an online link and audio information.*

Visual Support -- The presentation will be accessible via an internet connection through any web-enabled laptop or desktop computer of your choice.

Audio support -- Audio support for the presentation will be provided through your telephone via a toll-free line.

If you have further questions, please email support@brainxchange.ca
Copyright © 2019 brainXchange, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 



This event is hosted by brainXchange