Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada Event:
 
View this email in your browser

Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada Event:

 

Therapeutic Management of Multiple Sclerosis
 


Date: Wednesday March 7, 2018

Time: 12:00 PM –  1:30 PM CST  

(Click here to confirm your time zone)

10:00 AM - 11:30 AM (Pacific Standard) 
11:00 AM - 12:30 PM (Mountain Standard) 
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM (Central Standard)
1:00 PM - 2:30 PM (Eastern Standard)
2:00 PM - 3:30 PM (Atlantic Standard)
2:30 PM - 4:00 PM (Newfoundland)
 
REGISTER NOW

Presenters:




Michael P. Namaka BSc Pharm; Ph.D; EPP

At present Michael Namaka is a Tenured Full Professor at the College of Pharmacy and Medicine in the University of Manitoba. In addition, Dr. Namaka is also cross-appointed as a Professor in Rehab Medicine (Spinal Cord Injury) & Human Anatomy and Physiology in the College of Medicine at the University of Manitoba and the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority. Michael also is affiliated with Anesthesia Department of Medicine where he has an active clinical practice in the chronic pain clinic. 

Currently, Michael functions as clinician specialized in multiple sclerosis (MS) and chronic pain, with a recognized cellular expertise in both areas, through his professional designation as a neuro-immunologist. These dual professional designations have allowed Michael to bridge his cellular neuro-immunology research to his neurology based clinical practice.

Michael heads a neuroimmunology research laboratory, which serves as the training center for several MD-Ph D; Ph D and Master’s students. Dr Namaka’s neuro-immunology research laboratory is also recognized as a gene research-training center of excellence for the End MS program for the Manitoba/Ontario division of the MS Society. 
Since his appointment at the University 15 years ago, Michael holds numerous research grants and has published 54 manuscripts, 12 periodicals, 2 book chapters, 1 editorial letter, 65 abstracts, and performed 159 invited presentations world-wide.  Dr. Michael Namaka was awarded the prestigious international: “Commitment to Care Award for his innovative MS research and clinical neurology practice. 

In addition, Michael holds the elected office of Immediate Past President of Association of Faculties of Pharmacy of Canada since May 2010. Dr. Namaka is a co-founder along with Dr. Karen Ethans of the Manitoba Multiple Sclerosis Research Network Organization (MMSRNO). Currently, Dr. Namaka is the acting President of this organization. Internationally, Dr. Namaka also holds the official appointment (Oct 2015) as an Adjunct Professor at the Third Military Medical University in Chongqing, China as well as an official appointment (Oct 2015) as a Principle Investigator to the Joint Laboratory of Biological Psychiatry between the Shantou University Medical College Guangdong, China and the College of Medicine at the University of Manitoba.


Dawn Young, MS Navigator

As a MS Navigator, Dawn uses her knowledge and past experience as a Community Resources Coordinator for the MS Society in Saskatchewan to help those affected by MS navigate the many resources available, enabling them to enhance their quality of life. Reach out to any member of the MS Navigator team by phone at 1-844-859-6789 or by email msnavigators@mssociety.ca.

 

Summary: 


Educational Goals and Objectives will be based on Michael's recent book chapter on Multiple Sclerosis published in the textbook entitled "Therapeutic Choices".

Specifically, this presentation will cover two main domains in the lecture timeslot which include: 
  1. A comprehensive overview of the underlying pathogenesis of multiple sclerosis with special attention to the relapsing remitting form of the disease.
  2. Discussion of currently available treatment strategies for the relapsing remitting form of the disease 
An open forum for questions and answers in regard to the various treatments discussed that are currently available for patients with multiple sclerosis, will be provided at the end of the webinar.


This session is hosted by the Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada who gratefully acknowledges the support of Biogen who provided an education grant which makes possible the MS Webinar Series.
 

Registration is FREE, but space is limited


Click here to Register

If the registration link above does not work, please copy and paste the following into your web browser: https://tinyurl.com/mar8registration


 







              
 

Connection Details: Technical Requirements

*You will receive an email confirmation shortly after registration, which will include an online link and a teleconference number with an access code.*

Visual Support -- The presentation will be accessible via an Internet connection. This connection can be any web-enabled laptop or desktop computer of your choice.

Audio support -- Audio support for the presentation will be provided through your telephone via a toll-free line.

If you have further questions, please contact Jillian McConnell at: jillian@brainxchange.ca
Technology and facilitation provided by the brainXchange



Copyright © 2018 brainXchange, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences