MS Society of Canada, BC & Yukon Division event: 

 
View this email in your browser

MS Society of Canada, BC & Yukon Division event:


The Disability Tax Credit for People with Multiple Sclerosis


Date: Wednesday November 21st, 2018

Time: 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM PST 

11:00 AM - 12:30 PM (Pacific Standard) 
12:00 PM –  1:30 PM (Mountain Standard) 
1:00 PM - 2:30 PM (Central Standard)
2:00 PM - 3:30 PM (Eastern Standard)
3:00 PM - 4:30 PM (Atlantic Standard)
3:30 PM - 5:00 PM (Newfoundland Standard)

 
REGISTER NOW

Presenters:



Sharareh Saremi, Advocate at Disability Alliance BC


Sharareh is a Disability Tax Credit (DTC), Persons with Disabilities (PWD), and Canada Pension Plan - Disability (CPP-D) advocate with the advocacy access team at Disability Alliance BC. She graduated with a degree in Gender, Race, Sexuality and Social Justice from UBC, joined the DABC team in January 2018, and has enjoyed learning how to best serve and support her community and clients.


Nyssa Lessingham, Coordinator, Volunteer Legal Advocacy Program (VLAP), MS Society BC & Yukon Division


Nyssa has been an advocate with the Volunteer Legal Advocacy Program (VLAP) since 2016, serving people living with MS who are facing legal and advocacy issues in BC and the Yukon. She earned her degree in Psychology and Counselling from Simon Fraser University. As the Coordinator of VLAP, she works out of the Burnaby MS Society office Monday through Friday, 9am to 5pm, assisting clients primarily with issues related to employment, human rights, and disability benefit application and appeals such as Canada Pension Plan – Disability (CPP-D), Persons with Disabilities (PWD), Long Term Disability (LTD), and the Disability Tax Credit (DTC).

 

Summary: 


The disability tax credit (DTC) is a non-refundable tax credit that helps person with disabilities to reduce the amount of income tax they may have to pay. Some people living with MS may qualify for the DTC. This webinar will help participants to understand how the DTC may benefit them, who may be eligible, and how to apply to Canada Revenue Agency with the support of a medical practitioner. Speakers from the MS Society BCY Volunteer Legal Advocacy Program (VLAP) and from the Disability Alliance of BC (DABC) provide this overview, as well as information how you can access the assistance of an advocate if you are apply for the DTC.

This session is hosted by the British Columbia & Yukon Division of the Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada. It is offered free of charge and is funded in part by the Law Foundation of British Columbia.

 

Registration is FREE!


Click here to Register

If the registration link above does not work, please copy and paste the following into your web browser:  https://tinyurl.com/nov21reg
 






              
 

Connection Details: Technical Requirements

*You will receive an email confirmation shortly after registration, which will include an online link and a teleconference number with an access code.*

Visual Support -- The presentation will be accessible via an Internet connection. This connection can be any web-enabled laptop or desktop computer of your choice.

Audio support -- Audio support for the presentation will be provided through your telephone via a toll-free line.

If you have further questions, please contact Jillian McConnell at: jillian@brainxchange.ca
Technology and facilitation provided by the brainXchange



Copyright © 2019 brainXchange, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences