Copy
The neighborhood bookstore for Phinney Ridge and Greenwood
View this email in your browser
The very attentive among you might wonder why we've popped up in your in-box today. Aren't we on our every-other-week summer schedule? Didn't you get a newsletter last week? Yes, and yes, but since I'll be on vacation next week, I'm taking next week off and sending you a newsletter this week. In the spirit of summer lethargy, though, with no store events and no big award nominations to tell you about, I have almost nothing to say to introduce things, so I'll just say that if you are headed somewhere, in this last month of summer, where you'll have some interrupted reading time, I do highly recommend all 724 pages of Karl Marlantes's mighty new Northwest novel (see below). James liked it too.

See you in two weeks.
Thanks—Tom, Laura, Kim, Liz, Haley, Anika, Doree, and Nancy
Deep River
New Book of the Week
Deep River
by Karl Marlantes
Having missed out on Marlantes's fiercely admired Vietnam epic, Matterhorn, and in the mood for a big Northwest tale, I decided Deep River, only his second novel in four decades of writing, would be my big book of the summer. I'm very glad I did. It is indeed a big Northwest tale, following a few decades in the lives of a dozen or so main characters and many memorable secondary players, nearly all of them Finnish immigrants to the logging camps and fishing villages near the mouth of the Columbia a century ago. Characters grow and die, succeed and fail, fall in and out of love, suffer tragedy and survive it, and get caught up in the larger dramas of their time—war, labor battles, good times and bad. But most of all, they work: for women and men, old and young, the highest praise among these stoic Finns, whether for an employee or a love match, is to be called a "good worker." I lived in their world for two weeks, and they'll live in mine—Aino and Aksel, Matti, Ilmari, and Kyllikki—for a lot longer. —Tom
Old Book of the Week
Chronic City
by Jonathan Lethem
Reading last week about the late Michael Seidenberg, I got to thinking about this book by his great friend Jonathan Lethem, who started selling books for him as a young Brooklyn teenager. Perkus Tooth, the novel's most memorable character, might be based more closely on another Lethem pal, the critic Paul Nelson, but the book is saturated with the spirit of Seidenberg's salon: taking place in bohemian pockets hidden away in the billionaires' city, clouded with pot smoke, and full of brilliant cultural chatter curdled by impotence into melancholy and paranoia. Lethem's big Brooklyn novels might have gotten all the attention, but this one is a connoisseur's pleasure, with the sneaky staying power of, to make a reference its characters would likely appreciate, Bowie's Low. —Tom
Searching for Shona
Kids' Book of the Week
Searching for Shona
by Margaret J. Anderson
While perusing a list of women mystery writers’ favorite mysteries by women, one plot synopsis caught my eye: two girls swap identities while evacuating Edinburgh in 1940. When I looked on Goodreads it turned out to be a 1978 kids’ book, but so many adult commenters mentioned how it had stuck with them that I had to give it a try. The quietly compelling story follows Marjorie—aka Shona—as she grows from 11 to 17 in a Scottish village during WWII. Historical details about rationing and air raids, the emotional ties that develop between the evacuees and their foster families, as well as a spooky mansion that holds the secret to the real Shona’s parentage, all provide plenty to capture the imagination. But I bet it’s the eerie ending that inspired the would-be author and struck all those other young readers. It’s not so much a twist as a shock—the jolt of an unexpected but undeniable answer to that age-old mystery: what really makes you who you are? For fans of The War That Saved My Life and Charlotte, Sometimes. (Ages 9 to 12) —Liz
Karl Marlantes
Link of the Week
Marlantes on His Own Forebears
The stories of Karl Marlantes's own Finnish, Greek, and Norwegian immigrant forebears share many elements with the characters of Deep River, and the affection and complexity with which he talks about them and the work they did and the families they raised in this short piece for LitHub is also in keeping with his big-hearted, complex novel.
Cover Quiz 153
Cover Crop Quiz #153
A notable debut from 1920.
Last Week's Answer
The "W," and the Pistilli Roman font, are from Joan Didion's 1979 essay collection, The White Album. (I just noticed that the cover of the new essay collection by Jia Tolentino, whom the publisher is actively comparing to Didion, has a similar, though not identical, font. Probably no coincidence!)
New to Our 100 Club

Winnie-the-Pooh
by A.A. Milne
(1551 weeks to reach 100)



Phinney Books
7405 Greenwood Ave. N
Seattle, WA 98103
206.297.2665
www.phinneybooks.com
info@phinneybooks.com
Facebook page

 
New on Our Resist List
(See this week's full list.
20% of sales go to the ACLU.)


The True Believer by Eric Hoffer
On Disobedience by Erich Fromm
New in the Store


Fiction:
Chances Are... by Richard Russo
Dark Age (Red Rising #5) by Pierce Brown
The Vexations by Caitlin Horrocks
Speaking of Summer by Kalisha Buckhanon


Nonfiction:
Semicolon: The Past, Present, and Future of a Misunderstood Mark by Cecilia Watson
How to See by Thich Nhat Than
A Dream About Lightning Bugs: A Life of Music and Cheap Lessons by Ben Folds
The Victorian and the Romantic: A Memoir, a Love Story, and a Friendship Across Time by Nell Stevens


Kids and Teens:
The Poison Jungle (Wings of Fire #13) by Tui T. Sutherland
A Trip to the Pumpkin Farm (Owl Diaries #13) by Rebecca Elliott
Professor Renoir's Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights by Randall Platt
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball and Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis by Laura Ellen Anderson


Paperback:
My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite
The Witch Elm by Tana French
The Incendiaries by R.O. Kwon
The Shakespeare Requirement by Julie Schumacher
An Absolutely Remarkable Thing by Hank Green
This Week in Samuel Pepys's Diaries


Monday, July 29, 1667
(age 34)
"One thing extraordinary was, this day a man, a Quaker, came naked through the Hall, only very civilly tied about the privities to avoid scandal, and with a chafing-dish of fire and brimstone burning upon his head, did pass through the Hall, crying, “Repent! repent!” I up to the Painted Chamber, thinking to have got in to have heard the King’s speech, but upon second thoughts did not think it would be worth the crowd.... But presently comes down the House of Commons, the King having made then a very short and no pleasing speech to them at all, not at all giving them thanks for their readiness to come up to town at this busy time.... Thus they are dismissed again to their general great distaste, I believe the greatest that ever Parliament was, to see themselves so fooled, and the nation in certain condition of ruin, while the King, they see, is only governed by his lust, and women, and rogues about him.... They do all give up the kingdom for lost that I speak to."
Share Share
Tweet Tweet
Forward Forward
Copyright © 2019 Phinney Books, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp