Finalists announced in the Scottish Legal Awards 2017
View this email in your browser

Thursday 12th January 2017

Finalists announced in the 14th annual Scottish Legal Awards 

The prestigious awards programme which recognises outstanding achievement in Scottish law has announced its highly anticipated list of contenders for 2017.

The Scott + Co Scottish Legal Awards has revealed that 11 individuals and teams from 40 Scottish firms have been selected by the judging panel following a lengthy private debate held in Edinburgh last month.

The selection has been taken from the highest number of nominations ever received in the competition and which welcomed entries from individuals and firms from across Scotland.

Shonaig Macpherson CBE FRSE DUni LL.B, chair of the 12 member judging panel, commented;

“The quality and quantity of entries in the Scottish Legal Awards has broken all records and inevitably this has led to some very difficult decisions.  However, as these awards measure the success of the Scottish legal industry, we are certain that last year was a very positive period for Scottish lawyers who have worked tirelessly to gain some outstanding results.  We look forward to shining a light on all our winners in a few weeks’ time.”

Alex Irvine, Joint Head of Enforcement Administration at headline sponsors, Scott + Co, commented;

“It has been a privilege to assess the many entries in this competition in my first year as a judge.  I am very impressed by the quality of the entries and the rigour of the debate.  The Scottish Legal Awards have highly recognised credibility and integrity at their very heart and Scott + Co are delighted to continue our support of the awards.”

Included in the awards announcements will be the popular categories, Lawyer of the Year, Firm of the Year and Rising Star of the Year.  A new category, Innovation in Practice, highlighted a range of new measures adopted by private practice firms to stay ahead of the competition.

Two special awards which are not open for entry but decided at the discretion of the panel will also be presented and these are The Times Lifetime Achievement Award and Scott + Co Managing Partner of the Year.

The winners will be announced at a black tie awards dinner on Thursday 30 March 2017 held at the The Music Hall in Edinburgh’s Assembly Rooms and in support of two charities, It’s Good 2 Give and LawWorks Scotland.   To book at table at the awards please visit to submit a booking form. 
Residential Property Team of the Year 
  • Maloco + Associates
  • McEwan Fraser Legal
  • McQueen Legal
  • Simpson & Marwick
Family Law Team of the Year sponsored by Brewin Dolphin
  • Family Law Matters Scotland LLP
  • Livingstone Brown
  • Macleod & MacCallum
  • Morton Fraser Family Law Team
  • MacRoberts
Excellence in Client Care sponsored by Barr Printers
  • McEwan Fraser Legal
  • Blackadders Employment Team
  • Harper Macleod
  • Maloco + Associates
Community Contribution Award sponsored by Frasia Wright    
  • Bond Dickinson
  • Faculty of Advocate
  • Innes & Mackay Solicitors & Estate Agents
Paralegal of the Year
  • Rosemary Cameron  - John Pryde and Company
  • Bilaal Shabbir - MBS Solicitors
  • Beth Taylor - Watermans
Innovation in Practice  
  • Altis Legal
  • Harper Macleod LLP
  • Weightmans Scotland LLP
  • Brodies LLP
  • DLA Piper (Scotland) LLP
  • DWF
Rising Star of the Year  
  • Dominic Scullion - Anderson Strathern
  • Andrew Wallace - Blackadders LLP
  • Helen Callaghan – DWF
  • Ryan Russell - Muir Myles Laverty Solicitors
  • Martin Campbell - Scottish Social Services Council
  • Caroline Pringle - Murray Beith Murray
Support Team of the Year sponsored by Wolffe
  • Anderson Strathern
  • ESPC
  • Innes & Mackay Solicitors & Estate Agents
  • Moore Legal Technology
  • Millar & Bryce
Pro Bono Award sponsored by LawWorks Scotland        
  • Clan Child Law
  • DLA Piper (Scotland) LLP
  • Glasgow Caledonian University Law Clinic
Litigation Team of Year
  • Allan McDougall Solicitors
  • Clyde & Co
  • Harper Macleod LLP
  • Maclay Murray & Spens LLP
Employer of the Year    
  • McEwan Fraser Legal
  • Watermans
In House Legal Team of the Year             
  • Aberdeenshire Council
  • Clydesdale Bank
  • Sainsbury's Bank plc
  • Scottish Social Services Council
Lawyer of the Year sponsored by Law Society of Scotland
  • Simon Allison - Blackadders LLP
  • Aamer Anwar - Aamer Anwar & Co
  • Stuart Munro - Livingstone Brown
Firm of the Year
  • DLA Piper (Scotland) LLP
  • Gillespie Macandrew LLP
  • Harper Macleod LLP
  • MacRoberts
  • Thorntons
  • Clyde & Co

For further media information, please contact: or
0131 337 6232
Copyright © 2017 KDMedia PR and Events, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list