Copy
View this email in your browser

USDA Southwest Climate Hub 

February 2018

First Friday All Climate Change Talks (FFACCTs) 

Hosted by the USDA Forest Service, Research and Development Deputy Area, in cooperation with the USDA Climate Hubs

Presentation:  After Fire: A Toolkit for the Southwest  


The recently developed After Fire Toolkit serves as a resource for those interested in understanding the methods available to assess and mitigate potential risks associated with post-fire events, including flooding, debris flows, and sedimentation. The online toolkit addresses needs identified by managers and stakeholders during workshops hosted by the USFS, the Nature Conservancy, University of Arizona, Bureau of Reclamation, and others to focus on strategies for diminishing post-fire effects and restoring newly burned landscapes. Friggens and Driscoll will introduce the project and discuss the research, methods, and tools available on the site for measuring and reducing risks after fire. 
 

About Megan Friggens and Katelyn Driscoll:


Katelyn Driscoll is an Ecologist and Presidential Management Fellow at the Forestry Science Laboratory in Albuquerque, NM. Her work focuses on the resistance and resilience of aquatic and riparian ecosystems and seeks to understand the current conditions of these systems in relation to their natural range of variation. 

Megan Friggens is a Research Ecologist at the Forestry Science Laboratory in Albuquerque, NM. Currently, Megan’s research explores how climate and fire regime change impact natural resources in the Western U.S. 


Questions: please contact Anne Marsh, National Program Lead for Climate Change Research, annemarsh@fs.fed.us 
Dr. Megan Friggens & Ms. Katelyn Driscoll
U.S.Forest Service Research & Development  Rocky Mountain Research Station  
 
Friday, March 2, 2018  
12 pm Eastern/11 am Central/  10 am Mountain/ 9 am Pacific  

 
The presentation will follow an update on USDA Forest Service and Climate Hub activities 
 
To join the webinar:  
For audio, dial: 1-888-844-9904 and use access code: 3847359 
 
Web Login: https://usfs.adobe.connect.com/sfmr-1000/ 
Copyright © 2018 Southwest Climate Hub, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp