Copy
Subscribe to our mailing list
Greetings from Escalator Press, November 2018!

Looking ahead to 2019

Headed by Mandy Hager, the reading group for Escalator Press is currently reading a very interesting range of manuscripts for 2019 – they have the exciting job of recommending the books we'll publish next year. In line with our philosophy of being a 'learning press', the reading group always includes both experienced readers and new writing graduates. There might be some new directions to look out for!

Photo taken by David Hamilton.

Buzzy Bookshop Day fun

Escalator Press was involved with a fabulous Bookshop Day event this year at North City PaperPlus! We had competitions, we had prizes, we had sweets and, most of all, we had nine fantastic authors involved to interact with the locals. Juliette MacIver, Gay Hay, Michael Munro, Kate De Goldi, Gillian Candler and Escalator Press’s own Trish Harris, Rudy Castañeda López, Erin Donohue and Adrienne Jansen were wonderful, and we couldn’t have had such a great event without the fun-filled activities they brought to the day.

We’d like to thank the owners, Juliet and Richard, for hosting the event at our favourite bookstore. We all had an amazing time and enjoyed the buzzy atmosphere! Happy Bookshop Day everyone, and thank you all for coming!
Our newest books have been launched!
L.J. Ritchie’s new young adult novel, Monsters of Virtue, was successfully launched at Te Auaha on the 23 October. Ritchie also took part in a lunchtime author talk at Unity Books Wellington, in conversation with Madeleine Collinge about all the dark topics of the book: how teenagers would handle the violence, how he made the characters pro-eugenics while still portraying it as a bad idea, and when the next book is expected.

Adrienne Jansen’s new novel A Change of Key was launched earlier this month on a high note. Guests were treated to the musical talent of concert violinist Vanya Mateeva, whose exquisite playing marked the significance of the occasion. Adrienne captivated the audience with stories of her research, which included a trip to Bulgaria, and also spoke of the book design process for A Change of Key. The launch was followed by a Unity Books Wellington lunchtime session in which Adrienne and Brannavan Gnanalingam, in conversation with Lynda Chanwai-Earle, discussed the representation of the migrant and refugee experience in New Zealand literature.

Every event was well-attended, many books were sold, and an excellent time was had by all. Congratulations to Adrienne, Logan and the team at Whitireia Publishing!

Recent raves
Monsters of Virtue
‘Galtonia, with its multiple layers and secrets, is desirable and terrifying. With a creeping sense of horror around every corner, the suspense is unbelievably satisfying and the conclusion, when it comes, is dramatic, organic and charged.’
– Scoop

‘Teenage brains are wired to care about fairness and morality, so I posit that this book is going to be an absolute hit with that particular group of 14 – 19-year-old teens who want to change the world (as well as adults). I’d recommend it particularly for fans of Mandy Hager and Patrick Ness. And Lord of the Flies ...
L. J. Ritchie has taken a tough topic and handled it with delicacy and intellectual rigor that is almost flawless. Monsters of Virtue is a feat to be celebrated.’
– The Sapling
A Change of Key
‘At a time when issues of immigration, migrant rights and institutional racism make headlines both here and abroad, a novel that connects us with our minority cultures is both educational and welcome … Jansen has the ear and the eye to present these issues in a bright, lively and even quirky tale.’
The New Zealand Herald
 
‘This is not a dark, heavy-going novel; rather it is a very readable, worthwhile, multicultural mystery story that revolves around a series of issues that Marko and his neighbours are grappling with.’
Scoop
Facebook
Website
Twitter
Forward this email to a friend






This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Escalator Press · Whitireia New Zealand · SX33471 · Wellington, Wellington 6011 · New Zealand

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp