View this email in your browser

Announcing the appointment of leadership for the Astro2020 decadal survey committee

The President of the National Academy of Sciences has appointed Dr. Fiona Harrison and Dr. Robert Kennicutt, Jr. to serve as co-chairs of the Astronomy and Astrophysics Decadal Survey committee.  Brief biographical information about the survey’s leaders is below.
Keep an eye on the Astro2020 webpage for ways you can participate. Science white papers will be accepted beginning Monday, January 7, 2019, and nominations for committee service also will be accepted soon.
Visit the Astro 2020 Website

Committee Chair Biographies

FIONA A. HARRISON (NAS) is the Benjamin M. Rosen Professor of Physics and the Kent and Joyce Kresa Leadership Chair of the Division of Physics and Mathematics at the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena. Dr. Harrison's primary research interests are in experimental and observational high-energy astrophysics. She is the principal investigator of NASA's Nuclear Spectroscopic Telescope Array (NuSTAR), for which she received the NASA Outstanding Public Leadership Medal in 2013. In 2015, she was awarded the Bruno Rossi Prize of the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society, and in 2016 she won the Harrie Massey Award from the Committee on Space Research. She was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences in 2014. Dr. Harrison is past chair of the Division of Astrophysics of the American Physical Society, and chair-elect of the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society. Dr. Harrison served as chair of the Academies’ Space Studies Board, is a member of the James Webb Space Telescope Independent Review Board, and chaired the Academies’ Committee on an Assessment of the Astrophysics Focused Telescope Assets (AFTA) Mission Concepts. She was a member of the committee on Decadal Survey on Astronomy and Astrophysics 2010.
ROBERT C. KENNICUTT, JR. (NAS) is a professor at the Steward Observatory at the University of Arizona and in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Texas A&M University. His research interests are primarily in observational extragalactic astronomy and cosmology. Dr. Kennicutt has over forty years of experience in various capacities including serving as: Plumian Professor of Astronomy and Experimental Philosophy and as Director of the Institute of Astronomy, and head of the school of physical sciences at the University of Cambridge; as Editor-in-Chief of The Astrophysical Journal; and as Professor/Astronomer and Deputy Head of the Department of Astronomy at the University of Arizona. He has won numerous awards such as the Gruber Cosmology Prize, and the Dannie Heinman Prize in Astrophysics at the American Institute of Physics. He received his Ph.D. in astronomy from the University of Washington. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2006 and to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2001 and was elected a fellow of the Royal Society of London (FRS) in 2011. Dr. Kennicutt has served on various committees at the National Academies including the Committee on Decadal Survey on Astronomy and Astrophysics 2010, the Committee on Astronomy and Astrophysics, and the Task Group on Space Astronomy and Astrophysics.

About the Decadal Survey on Astronomy and Astrophysics (Astro2020)

Astro2020 is a partnership between the National Academies and the astronomical community to survey the field of astronomy and astrophysics and provide priorities for the most important scientific and technical activities for the upcoming decade. It will also serve as a guide for scientists, policy makers, and agencies invested in the astronomical sciences.  Visit our website to sign up for our mailing list and keep up to date on the latest developments including calls for input and upcoming events.
Copyright © 2018 National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
500 Fifth St., NW
Washington, DC 20001

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.