View this email in your browser

Announcing the Astro2020 Steering Committee

We are pleased to announce the members of the steering committee for the Decadal Survey on Astronomy and Astrophysics (Astro2020). The role of the steering committee is to lead a community-based process to identify and prioritize leading-edge scientific questions and the ways to answer them. Members of the steering committee were selected for their scientific and technical expertise and breadth, and proven ability to provide objective, consensus-based advice.

Fiona A. Harrison, California Institute of Technology, Co-Chair
Robert C. Kennicutt, Jr., University of Arizona and Texas A&M University, Co-Chair
Julianne Dalcanton, University of Washington
Pieter van Dokkum, Yale University
Andrew S. Driesman, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory 
Jonathan J. Fortney, University of California, Santa Cruz
Gabriela González, Louisiana State University
Jordan A. Goodman, University of Maryland
Marc P. Kamionkowski, Johns Hopkins University
Bruce A. Macintosh, Stanford University
Jacobus M. Oschmann, International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE)
Rachel A. Osten, Space Telescope Science Institute
Lyman A. Page, Jr., Princeton University
Eliot Quataert, University of California, Berkeley
Wanda A. Sigur, Lockheed Martin, retired
Rachel Somerville, Rutgers University
Keivan G. Stassun, Vanderbilt University
Jean L. Turner, University of California, Los Angeles
Tim de Zeeuw, Leiden University
Ellen G. Zweibel, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Read the steering committee member biographies


Save the Date: Astro2020 Committee Meeting on July 15-17

The first Astro2020 committee meeting will take place on July 15-17, 2019 at the Keck Center in Washington, D.C.  We plan to offer an option to watch the public sessions remotely.  More details will follow as the event approaches.

About the Decadal Survey on Astronomy and Astrophysics (Astro2020)

Astro2020 is a partnership between the National Academies and the astronomical community to survey the field of astronomy and astrophysics and provide priorities for the most important scientific and technical activities for the upcoming decade. It will also serve as a guide for scientists, policy makers, and agencies invested in the astronomical sciences.  Visit our website to sign up for our mailing list and keep up to date on the latest developments including calls for input and upcoming events.
Copyright © 2019 National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
500 Fifth St., NW
Washington, DC 20001

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.