News from New Zealand's Oldest Rugby Club
View this email in your browser

Blues News

Junior Prize Giving 2019

The junior club celebrated the achievements of their players at a lunchtime function at the clubrooms on Sunday 8th September.

Awards were given to players who had contributed to their team's success through their skills, attitude and commitment to their teams.

The coaches found it hard to decide who to award the individual prizes, as they all noted what a great season their team's had, with the players stepping up, working hard at training and during the games, looking out for each other and showing a great attitude.

Ash Millar was awarded the Rochelle Walker Memorial Cup for contribution to the junior club, acknowledging his last seven years coaching his team - this years U13s.

Special thanks to Quentin and Jo Harwood for the amazing job they do running the junior club and to coaches for the great work they do with their teams.

Club Awards

U7 sevens player of year: Jett Leslie

U12 sevens player of the year: Will Daniel

McDonald's trophy for outstanding attitude: Emily Claridge

Female player of the year: Lucy Mahuika

Rochelle Walker Memorial Cup for contribution to the junior club: Ash Millar

Team Awards

U6 White

Player of the year: White Blake Oostingh, Most Improved: Liam Angus, Sportsperson: Alex Shefford, McDonalds Champion Attitude: Cory Trusler

U6 Blue

Player of the year: Jago Doherty, Most Improved: Zacaia Lunai and Finley Hogan, Sportsperson: Charlie McNeill, McDonalds Champion Attitude: Emily Claridge

U7 White

Player of the year: Jett Leslie, Most Improved: Oliver Shattock and Jake Crosbie, Sportsperson: Keira Anderson and Neveah Pluck, Coaches choice: Mikayla Smith, McDonalds Champion Attitude: Ruby Anderson

U7 Blue

Player of the year: Hezekiel Tupuola, Most Improved: Kayden Trusler, Sportsperson: Ashton Harris – Russell, McDonalds Champion Attitude: Robbie Freeman

U8 White

Player of the year: White Emmett Crockett, Most Improved: Harry Flewellen, Sportsperson: Jaylin Jefford, McDonalds Champion Attitude: Kru Smith

U8 Blue

Player of the year: Welfare Schwenke, Most Improved: Emmett Cochrane, Sportsperson: E J Schwenke, McDonalds Champion Attitude: Edwin Acland


Player of the year: Leo Saunders, Most Improved: Theo Kemplen, Sportsperson: Jack Hall, McDonalds Champion Attitude: Quinn MacDonald


Player of the year: Awatea Rahui, Most Improved: Alex Walzl, Sportsperson: George Lewis, McDonalds Champion Attitude: Vinn Smith


Player of the year: Joseph Schwenke, Most Improved: Xavier Stewart, Sportsperson: Finn Dallas, McDonalds Champion Attitude: Matthias Campbell

U12 White

Player of the year: Norman Williams, Most Improved: Sirrus Hoeksma – Baker and Reed Deuxberry Sportsperson: Zac Irving, McDonalds Champion Attitude: Campbell Folly

U12 Blue

Player of the year: Tom Perkins, Most Improved: Archie Geddes and Miles McCarthy, Sportsperson: Ania Morgan and Ruby Thomas, McDonalds Champion Attitude: Dylan Browning


Player of the year: Kobi Moser, Most Improved: Oliver Crowther, Sportsperson: Cullen Millar and Brody Anderson, McDonalds Champion Attitude: Vito Esposito

More images » 

Membership Draw

When: 6: 30pm, 27th September
Where: Clubrooms

We will be drawing the winners of the membership draw at the Clubrooms on Friday 27th September. Pop in before the Mako game for a drink and catch up with friends and see if you are a winner!

We will be publishing the results on the club website and Facebook page

Good Luck

MAKO home games

The clubrooms will be open for the Mako home games. Pop in for a drink, meet up with friends and family before or after the game.

Everyone welcome.

Ted Anderson

Ted Anderson, a member of the club for nearly 70 years, talks to Barbara Hodgson about the highs and lows of his rugby career, the style of rugby played in his day, the mates he made and his contribution to the club through the various roles he performed.

Blues family news

Over the last month members of our Blues Family have lost loved ones. Our deepest sympathy goes out to:

  • Weichern family - Life member Dick Wiechern
  • Francis Lagrutta - daughter Abby

Snippets from the archives

14th May 1870 - Nelson vs Nelson College, Botanical Reserve, Nelson

We are extremely proud of our history and heritage as New Zealand's oldest rugby club and we are planning to celebrate the anniversary of the first game played in New Zealand in style.

There will be a number of events next year, with the 150th celebration planned for Queens Birthday weekend June 2020.

Are you interested in attending our 150th celebration?

To help us with planning the weekend can you please complete the expression of interest form.

We are trying to reach as many people connected with the club as possible - please share this link with other members of the Nelson Rugby Football Club family.

Keep an eye on this page and our Facebook page for events and dates. We will also be sending out 150th email updates.

Sponsors of the Nelson Rugby Football Club

Please support our sponsors, as without them we couldn't operate as we do today.

Follow us on Facebook for more frequent updates
Follow us on Facebook for more frequent updates
Copyright © 2019 Nelson Rugby Football Club, All rights reserved.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp